• You are here: Home
  • BGU News
  • Sandford Award Winners Announced

Sandford Award Winners Announced

sandford award logo.jpgThe winners of the 2017 Sandford Award have been announced with 37 heritage sites from across the UK receiving the honour.

The Sandford Award is managed by Bishop Grosseteste University (BGU) in Lincoln in partnership with the Heritage Education Trust.

The Award is an independently judged, quality assured assessment of education programmes at heritage sites, museums, archives and collections across the British Isles.

Almost 500 sites including historic houses, museums, galleries, places of worship, gardens, landscapes and collections – have received an Award since the scheme began in 1978. 

Found out more about The Sandford Award here.

The winners are:
Abbey House Museum and Kirkstall Abbey, Leeds
Attingham Park, Shropshire
Blenheim Palace, Oxfordshire
British Motor Museum, Warwickshire
Cardiff Castle, Wales
Chawton House Library in Hampshire
Cooper Gallery- Barnsley Museums
Corinium Museum, Gloucestershire
Coventry Cathedral
Fashion Museum and Assembly Rooms, Bath
Geevor Tin Mine, Cornwall
Gressenhall Farm and Workhouse, Norfolk
Hull and East Riding Museum
Jane Austen's House Museum, Hampshire
Jewish Museum London
Knole, National Trust, Kent
Lamport Hall, Northamptonshire
Leeds Castle, Kent
Leeds City Museum, West Yorkshire
Lion Salt Works, Cheshire
M Shed, Bristol
Mansfield Museum, Nottinghamshire
Museum of English Rural Life, Berkshire
National Football Museum in Manchester
The Navan Centre & Fort, Northern Ireland
Norwich Castle
Robert Burns Birthplace Museum, Scotland
Sentry Hill Historic House and Visitor Centre, Northern Ireland
Temple Newsam House, West Yorkshire
The Englefield Estate, Berkshire
The Geffrye Museum, London
Valence House, London
Warner Bros. Studio Tour London
Weald and Downland Living Museum, West Sussex
Weaver Hall Museum and Workhouse, Cheshire
Weston Park, Shropshire
Winding House Museum, Wales
Verulamium Museum, St Albans
York's Chocolate Story